Member opinions needed!!! Swan Station blueprints

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Member opinions needed!!! Swan Station blueprints

Post by MyStarbuckHatesLost on Wed Jun 25, 2008 1:05 pm

As some of you may know, I am currently working on a set of blueprints for the Swan Station from Lost and I need your help.

I am constructing an explaination as to what the "Incident" was that changed the Swan Station from research facility to caretaker facitlity that dealt with the EM energy buildup.
I am a purist and do not really consider info from novels or video games to be cannon. (If it ain't broadcast, I don't believe it) So I came up with this in the hope that it sounds logical, scientifically plausible and may be something at least similar to the direction that the show's writers may go if they ever explain what happened.

If you could give me your opinions on it I would be most appreciative.
Thanks


The Swan Station was originally intended as a scientific research facility for studying and harnessing the unique electromagnetic properties found on the island. This, however, is much different than the work in which it is currently engaged. On April 16, 1978, less than 3 months after the station became operational, an incident occurred in the EM anomaly dome that forever altered the function of the Swan Station. When construction began in the cave that contained the anomaly, it was decided that a structural dome would be built over the anomaly to protect it from the possibility of cave-ins. It was thought that the dome, made of non-conductive materials, would not interfere with the natural EM properties of the anomaly. However, during an experiment to both concentrate and harness the EM energy, it is believe that the dome reflected the energy back into the anomaly, thus creating a destructive amplification feedback effect that ultimately damaged the anomalyís natural EM discharge characteristics.
The anomalyís EM energy had previously increased and decreased naturally with any build-up being discharged into the Earthís mantle. The incident, however, disrupted that pattern, allowing the energy to build up without relief and causing massive and unpredictable EM pulses to emanate from the anomaly nexus at regular intervals.
An effective, though admittedly imperfect, solution was found and Dharma personnel installed EM conductors that would allow the buildup of energy to be released in a manner that prevented the uncontrolled discharges. At first, the system was automated and allowed for the energy dissipation process to occur without human intervention. It was discovered, however, that the very energy that the system was designed to control interfered with itís function. Human control was therefore added to the system resulting in the protocols now in use.


Here is the text in the context of the entire blueprint page:


Last edited by MyStarbuckHatesLost on Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
avatar
MyStarbuckHatesLost
On Jacobs List

Number of posts : 681
Age : 54
Location : Winston Salem, North Carolina U.S.A.
Humor : check out TheFlatSpin.com and you'll be sorry you asked that.
Registration date : 2008-05-14

View user profile http://www.theflatspin.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Member opinions needed!!! Swan Station blueprints

Post by AngeloComet on Wed Jun 25, 2008 1:49 pm

My personal take on the human intervention aspect was one purely for the psychological research aspects. That Dharma could have automated the system, but figured testing subjects in this environment was too good an opportunity to miss.

Then 'the purge' happened, and so whoever was left down there being tested on never found out it was all a test, no relief arrived, and so the requirement to push the button was produced.

(If it wasn't a test, why the 'doomsday hieroglyphics'? Surely they were an extra measure designed to scare test subjects into continuing to press the button?)

As for the explanation of the anomaly itself. . . It's a good angle, to consider what happened prior to Dharma showing up. Presumably the weird electromagnetism hummed along just fine until D.I. showed up and tapped into it.

The explanation so far is that there is a build-up, and the function of the button is to vent that build-up.

Citing the dome as potential cause is viable. But maybe there was no incident. Maybe Dharma learned that pushing the button and venting the EM stuff at that precise time kept the Island hidden, poised in its bubble, if you like.

Then it went kaput - the Island was revealed and Penny and Widmore could see it and find it.

Thus followed the requirement, using similar EM effects, to move the Island. . .
avatar
AngeloComet
On Jacobs List

Number of posts : 626
Age : 39
Location : Manchester, United Kingdom
Humor : Dry and witty. Like my women.
Registration date : 2008-05-13

Character sheet
Name: Jack

View user profile http://www.angelocomets-lost-place.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Member opinions needed!!! Swan Station blueprints

Post by MyStarbuckHatesLost on Wed Jun 25, 2008 1:54 pm

AngeloComet wrote:

Citing the dome as potential cause is viable. But maybe there was no incident. Maybe Dharma learned that pushing the button and venting the EM stuff at that precise time kept the Island hidden, poised in its bubble, if you like.

Good points. I should clarify that the blueprints should be viewed as part of a sort of "orientation package" given to new Dharma recruits as an adjunct to the orientation film.

If you imagine yourself as a Dharma newbie ready to take staion in the Swan for 540 days, would this stuff make sense to you.

I agree that there may never have been an incident, (and with your phychological take on the station) at least not in the sense that the orientation film leads us to believe. But would that be something the DI would want to share with general personnel.

Maybe this should almost be viewed as Dharma propaganda for new recruits...truthful but not 100% truthful
avatar
MyStarbuckHatesLost
On Jacobs List

Number of posts : 681
Age : 54
Location : Winston Salem, North Carolina U.S.A.
Humor : check out TheFlatSpin.com and you'll be sorry you asked that.
Registration date : 2008-05-14

View user profile http://www.theflatspin.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Member opinions needed!!! Swan Station blueprints

Post by TheHolyStickman on Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:34 pm

I don't really understand this enough to give a good opinion about it. Sorry MSHL. I'll have another read and try again.
avatar
TheHolyStickman
The Chosen Ones

Number of posts : 1115
Age : 22
Location : Norfolk England
Humor : Witty
Registration date : 2008-05-18

Character sheet
Name: Roger Gilmour

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Member opinions needed!!! Swan Station blueprints

Post by vincentthedog on Wed Jul 02, 2008 1:21 am

I`m gonna read later but the blue prints look GREAT!
avatar
vincentthedog
On Jacobs List

Number of posts : 963
Age : 43
Location : Mass,USA
Humor : God is a comedian, playing to an audience too afraid to laugh. - Voltaire
Registration date : 2008-05-15

Character sheet
Name: Vlad TŠltos

View user profile http://www.myspace.com/artmassage

Back to top Go down

Re: Member opinions needed!!! Swan Station blueprints

Post by solarchap on Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:44 am

MSHL, My BSG review eps 1-4 has been sitting in the outbox when i thought it was already sent, I have posted under technical to get help, I wondered why i hadn't heard from you.

The blueys are great!
avatar
solarchap
Others

Number of posts : 263
Age : 47
Location : London
Humor : Lots
Registration date : 2008-05-16

Character sheet
Name: Dirk Diggler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Member opinions needed!!! Swan Station blueprints

Post by Hope on Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:46 am

Wow I wish I could be as creative as you guys!! I am more creative around the house with decorating and turning salvaged items into treasure.
avatar
Hope
Others

Number of posts : 189
Age : 35
Location : Columbus, Ohio
Humor : Don't play leap frog with a unicorn
Registration date : 2008-05-13

Character sheet
Name: Illiana Vess

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Member opinions needed!!! Swan Station blueprints

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum